Search


About Adam

Adam Roberts is the author of a growing number of science fiction novels, short stories, essays and other writings. This site contains not just his blog, but everything you could ever want to know about everything Adam has ever published. And more...

Recent Posts

Other Roberts Blogs

Links / Blogroll

Archive for July, 2007

Deathray on Headless: it’s Clever, Unfortunately

Wednesday, July 25th, 2007

Deathray you ask? Deathray I say. Guy Haley reviews the novel, and his tagline is: 'Newly headless pompous poet wends painful way to self-discovery in picaresque SF tale that is, at time, too clever by half.' Quite right too: no place for cleverness in SF. Vile quality. Tricky, tricky Mr Roberts. He's a tough one [...]

Palgrave History of Science Fiction: paperback

Saturday, July 14th, 2007

Here's the cover for the forthcoming paperback edition ofmy Palgrave History of Science of Fiction:

Swift! Orwell! Atwood! Roberts …

Wednesday, July 11th, 2007

Land of the Headless is a darkly satirical tale that extrapolates an absurd idea into something weirdly plausible. This is not escapist adventure but a dystopian vision in the tradition of Swift, Orwell and Atwood against the cruellest extremes of human stupidity. THE TIMES ... grotesque satire of religious fundamentalism. Thoroughly engrossing . . . [...]

Locus on Headless

Tuesday, July 10th, 2007

Nick Gevers, LOCUS: The SF novels of Adam Roberts invariably centre on jaw-dropping concepts extrapolated to wonderful, and satirical extremes. There is no doubting the cumulative power of his work, its aspiring strangeness and neatly calculated absurdist brio. Consider the premise of Robertss latest book Land of the Headless. . . a brilliant burlesque conceit, [...]

Saturday Telegraph Headless review

Wednesday, July 4th, 2007

Short enough to be quoted in full, Andrew McKie's Telegraph review of Land of the Headless from Saturday 30th June (also, by pleasant synchronicity, my birthday): Land of the Headless is billed as a simple story. This might not be your first thought as you read the tale of a man who is beheaded for [...]