About Adam

Adam Roberts is the author of a growing number of science fiction novels, short stories, essays and other writings. This site contains not just his blog, but everything you could ever want to know about everything Adam has ever published. And more...

Recent Posts

Other Roberts Blogs

Links / Blogroll

2013 John W. Campbell Memorial Award Shortlist

By Adam Roberts | May 19, 2013
Categories: Awards

I could not be more delighted to have made the (very strong) 2013 John W. Campbell Memorial Award shortlist:

The Hydrogen Sonata, Iain M. Banks (Orbit)
Any Day Now, Terry Bisson (Overlook)
Existence, David Brin (Tor)
The Rapture of the Nerds, Cory Doctorow & Charles Stross (Tor)
Empty Space, M. John Harrison (Gollancz; Night Shade ’13)
Intrusion, Ken MacLeod (Orbit)
Railsea, China Miéville (Del Rey)
The Fractal Prince, Hannu Rajaniemi (Gollancz; Tor)
Blue Remembered Earth, Alastair Reynolds (Ace)
Jack Glass: The Story of a Murderer, Adam Roberts (Gollancz)
2312, Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)
Slow Apocalypse, John Varley (Ace)
Alif the Unseen, G. Willow Wilson (Grove Press)

The award, for best SF novel, will be presented during the Campbell Conference, to be held July 13-16, 2013 at the Oread Hotel in Lawrence KS.

I wish I could go, but on the 14th I'm giving a TEDx talk at the Houses of Parliament. Still; to be on the same list as Empty Space, Intrusion, The Fractal Prince, Blue Remembered Earth, 2312, Alif the Unseen and the rest is enormously flattering, and an honour.

Be Sociable, Share!

No tags for this post.

4 Comments to-date;

4 Responses to “2013 John W. Campbell Memorial Award Shortlist”

  1. James Says:
    June 9th, 2013 at 8:01 pm

    My wife just notified me that Iain M. Banks died today. His loss to the science fiction community will be felt. The Hydrogen Sonata sits unread on my bookshelf and I can't help but feel his very untimely demise will lend his novel a greater chance of picking this award. Feeling blue at his loss. It's a timely reminder to all readers of great science fiction to appreciate the works of the living authors in the here and now.

    Actually, I think I will starting reading as soon as I submit this post.

    I know it will be a fantastic read.


  2. Garry Oxley Says:
    June 18th, 2013 at 10:18 pm

    Many congratulations on winning the award, Adam; Jack Glass is enormously clever and enjoyable.

  3. William Smith Says:
    June 25th, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    Congratulations on the Campbell Award! Any idea when the ebook of Jack Glass will be out in the U.S.?

  4. Adam Roberts Says:
    August 6th, 2013 at 7:36 pm

    Garry, William: thank you both!